Rice University logoGeorge R. Brown School of Engineering
 
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
 
 

 

Faculty   

 

 

Department Chair 


                                   
  Michael S. Wong  27 
Professor and Chair, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Chemistry, Materials Science & NanoEngineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering
B217 Abercrombie Bldg.
mswong@rice.edu
 

Department Faculty  

 
 02 Pulickel M. Ajayan 
Benjamin M. and Mary Greenwood Anderson Professor of Materials Science & NanoEngineering,
Chemistry, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
219 Mechanical Engr. Bldg.
ajayan@rice.edu
 
 
 04Dilip Asthagiri
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Director of Professional Master's Program, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B235 Abercrombie Bldg.
dilipkumar.n.asthagiri@rice.edu
 
 
  05  George Bennett 
E. Dell Butcher Professor of BioSciences,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
813 BioScience Research Collaborative
gbennett@rice.edu
 
 
 06 Sibani Lisa Biswal 
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Materials Science & NanoEngineering,
Associate Department Chair, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Director of Graduate Studies, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B240 Abercrombie Bldg.
biswal@rice.edu
 
 
  30  Walter Chapman 
William W Akers Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Associate Dean for Energy, George R. Brown School of Engineering
B241 Abercrombie Bldg.
wgchap@rice.edu
 
 
  07  Cecilia Clementi 
Professor, Chemistry,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
304 Anderson Biological Bldg.
cecilia@rice.edu
 
 
  
 maryac Marya Cokar
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

B226 Abercrombie Bldg.
marya.cokar@rice.edu
 
 
  Kenneth Cox  08 
Professor In The Practice, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B230 Abercrombie Bldg.
ken.cox@rice.edu
 
 
  09  Ramon Gonzalez 
Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Bioengineering
BRC 825
ramon.gonzalez@rice.edu
 
 
  10  Rob Griffin 
Professor and Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
129 Keck Hall
rob.griffin@rice.edu
 
 
 10 George Hirasaki 
A. J. Hartsook Professor Emeritus,
Research Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B245 Abercrombie Bldg.
gjh@rice.edu
 
 
  12  Anatoly Kolomeisky 
Professor, Chemistry,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
306 Anderson Biological Bldg.
tolya@rice.edu
 
 
 13 Qilin Li 
Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Materials Science & NanoEngineering
225 Keck Hall
qilin.li@rice.edu
 
 
 10 Frederick C. MacKintosh 
Abercrombie Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Professor, Chemistry, Physics & Astronomy
fcmack@rice.edu
 
 
 
 
 14 Antonios G. Mikos 
Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Director – Center For Excellence In Tissue Engineering,
Director –  J.W. Cox Lab For Biomedical Engineering
625 BioScience Res Collaborative
mikos@rice.edu
 
 
   15   Clarence Miller 
Louis Calder Professor Emeritus,
Research Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B234 Abercrombie Bldg.
camill@rice.edu
                                                                                                                                                            
 
 
  17  Matteo Pasquali 
A. J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Chemistry, Materials Science & NanoEngineering
229 Keck Hall
mp@rice.edu
 
 
 19Marc Robert
Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B213 Abercrombie Bldg.
mrobert@rice.edu
 
 
  20  Peter J. Rossky 
Harry C. and Olga K. Wiess Professor of Chemistry,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Dean, Wiess School of Natural Sciences
E100 George R. Brown Hall
peter.rossky@rice.edu
 
 
 01 Ka-Yiu San
E.D. Butcher Professor of Bioengineering,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
815 BioScience Res Collaborative
ksan@rice.edu
 
 
  21  Laura Segatori 
Associate Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
BioSciences, Bioengineering
313 BioScience Res Collaborative
segatori@rice.edu
 
 
 23 Ned Thomas 
Professor, Material Science & NanoEngineering,
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Chemistry,
William and Stephanie Sick Dean of Engineering
1016 Duncan Hall

elt@rice.edu 
 
 
 24 Francisco M. Vargas 
Assistant Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
B228 Abercrombie Bldg.
fvargas@rice.edu
 
 
  25  Rafael Verduzco 
Associate Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Materials Science & NanoEngineering
212 Keck Hall
rafaelv@rice.edu
 
 
  27  Michael S. Wong 
Professor and Chair, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Chemistry, Materials Science & NanoEngineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering
B217 Abercrombie Bldg.
mswong@rice.edu
 
 
  28 Kyriacos Zygourakis 
A. J. Hartsook Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering,
Bioengineering
B227 Abercrombie Bldg.
kyzy@rice.edu

 

 

Teaching Faculty – Fall 2017



 Jacob Arredondo jah 
Laboratory Supervisor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

B114A Abercrombie Bldg.
 jha1@rice.edu 

 



 22Vahid Taghikhani 
Adjunct Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering 
B236 Abercrombie Bldg. 
vahid.taghikhani@rice.edu

22Mohammad Tavakkoli
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
tavakkoli@rice.edu


22Rocio Doherty
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
rdoherty@rice.edu


22Xiankuan Zhang
Adjunct Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
xiankuan.zhang@rice.edu


   

 

 

Adjunct Faculty



 
22Sivaram Arepalli
Adjunct Professor 
sarepalli@rice.edu

22Marek Behr 
Adjunct Professor
behr@rice.edu
22Jefferson Creek
Adjunct Professor 
jefferson.l.creek@rice.edu
22Ganesh Kailasam
Adjunct Professor 
ganesh.kailasam@rice.edu

22Rouhollah Farajzadeh 
Adjunct Associate Professor 
r.farajzadeh@rice.edu
16 Deepak Nagrath
 Adjunct Associate Professor
deepak.nagrath@rice.edu


 
22John Perez
Adjunct lecturer 
B214 Abercrombie Bldg.
john.perez@rice.edu

22 Michael Reynolds 
 
Adjunct Professor
michael.a.reynolds@rice.edu
mike.reynolds@shell.com
 22Richard Strait
Adjunct Professor 
richard.b.strait@rice.edu
22Xiankuan Zhang
Adjunct Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Lecturer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
xiankuan.zhang@rice.edu
 

 

 Emeritus Faculty  

William W. Akers
Constantine D. Armeniades
Sam H. Davis Jr.
Derek C. Dyson
J. David Hellums
George Hirasaki
Clarence Miller