Professional Excellence Award

The Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Alumni Advisory Committee has established the Professional Excellence Award to be awarded about every two years to honor one faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution to the education of undergraduate and/or graduate students.

To be eligible, a professor must have served at least four years in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. They need not still be at Rice or could be retired. They must be living at the time of their nomination. They are eligible to win once every five years. Any alumni of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering may nominate a professor along with any active student who has been at Rice for more than two years.


  • Kyriacos Zygourakis, 2020
  • Sibani Lisa Biswal, 2017
  • Kenneth R. Cox, 2014
  • Walter Chapman, 2012